The Seven Sacred Teachings, also known as the Seven Grandfather Teachings

The Seven Sacred Teachings, also known as the Seven Grandfather Teachings, are a set of teachings that have been passed down from generation to generation by First Nations people of North America.

Seven Grandfather Teachings

These teachings are the guiding principles for living a meaningful and fulfilling life, and they are essential to maintaining a harmonious relationship between human beings, nature, and the divine.

The Seven Sacred Teachings include:

1. Wisdom involves making wise choices that lead us on a path of positive growth and development. To attain wisdom, one must learn from experiences, seek knowledge from elders, and listen and learn from one’s mistakes.

2. Love emphasizes the importance of unconditional love, compassion, and kindness towards ourselves and others. It teaches us to give love freely and unconditionally, without any expectation of receiving love in return.

3. Respect emphasizes the importance of treating oneself, others, and nature with respect. Respect involves acknowledging the value and worth of all living things, and treating each other with kindness, honor, and dignity.

4. Bravery involves courage, fortitude and strength of character. Bravery inspires us to face our fears and overcome obstacles, to push ourselves to our limits and to fight for what is right.

5. Honesty emphasizes the importance of being truthful, trustworthy, and sincere in all our interactions with others. Honesty promotes trust, loyalty, and integrity, and it allows us to build meaningful and enduring relationships.

6. Humility involves having a modest and unpretentious attitude towards life, recognizing that we are all equal and interconnected. Humility inspires us to serve others, to be compassionate towards those who are less fortunate, and to strive to make a positive impact in the world.

7. Truth involves understanding and acknowledging the reality of our existence and our place in the world. It encourages us to seek knowledge, to be open-minded, and to question our assumptions and beliefs.

Each of these teachings are an inseparable whole and work together to create a holistic approach to mental, physical, emotional, and spiritual life, that is centered around humility, respect, and love.

Please don’t forget to SHARE this article with your friends and family…!

You may also like...

0 0 votes
Article Rating

Leave a Reply

1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

[…] The Cherokee is a Native American tribe that is indigenous to the Southeastern United States. They believe that the Creator has given them a gift of understanding and preserving medicinal herbs. The Cherokee trust the healing and preventative properties of nature’s pharmacy. Because many plants become scarce throughout history, the Cherokee promote proper gathering techniques. The old ones have taught them that if you are gathering, you should only pick every third plant you find. This ensures that enough specimens still remain and will continue to propagate. […]

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x